Полимеры и нефтепродукты

Polymer and petrochemical - EMS viscometer -

 

Вязкость - это важнейшее свойство любого полимерного материала. Измерение вязкости позволяет не только определить конкретное физическое свойство, но и его изменение, вызванное образованием связей или взаимодействием между мономерами или полимерами, например, процессами полимеризации, сшивкой или вулканизацией. Тем не менее, при использовании обычных вискозиметров, например, в конфигурации конус-плита, необходимо проводить замену или тщательную очистку измерения после каждого образца или при смене диапазона вязкостей. Это довольно трудоемкие процедуры, часто требующие подбора условий для оптимизации последующих результатов измерения.  В противоположность этому, с помощью вискозиметра EMS можно провести любые измерения без замены сфер, а с помощью скрининга - автоматически найти оптимальные условия измерения образца с неизвестной вязкостью. Зависимость вязкости образца от температуры, например, при изучении процессов плавления или застывания, можно легко определить с помощью автоматического контроля температуры. 
Ниже приведены полезные функции вискозиметра EMS для исследования полимеров и нефтепродуктов: 

Широкий диапазон измерения

Вискозиметр EMS обладает широчайшим диапазоном от 0.1 мПа・с до 1000000 мПа・с. С его помощью можно отслеживать вязкость в ходе процесса полимеризации или в процессе сшивки мономеров.

Точный контроль температуры и малый объем образца

Вискозиметр EMS снабжен электронной системой управления температурой, маленьким керамическим нагревателем и элементом Пельтье для охлаждения. Это позволяет управлять температурой с точностью ±0.1℃ во всем диапазоне от  0℃ до 200℃. Не нужно заказывать отдельный термостат для контроля температуры.
Мощность нагревателя позволяет нагреть образец от 25℃ до 200℃ за 10 минут, а Пельтье-элемента - охладить за 15 минут с 200℃ до 25℃. 

Для определения вязкости термопластичной смолы нужно лишь поместить небольшой твердый кусочек смолы при комнатной температуре в пробирку вместе со сферой и установить пробирку в вискозиметр EMS. После этого нужно запустить измерение, и вискозиметр сам расплавит образец. Это показывает, что вискозиметр EMS не требует проведения подготовки образца, например, трудных этапов нагрева и плавления, характерных для использования обычных вискозиметров вращения. 

Вискозиметр EMS снабжен точной и быстрой системой контроля температуры для небольших количеств образца, обеспечивающей максимальное удобство проведения определения зависимости вязкости от температуры. 

Последовательность для определения зависимости вязкости от температуры

В программном обеспечении вискозиметра EMS предусмотрена функция последовательных измерений, позволяющая проводить непрерывные измерения при разных температуры. Это очень полезная функция для изучения зависимостей вязкости от температуры и от времени. 
Функции безопасности прибора позволяют следить за образцом в течение длительного времени, особенно функция, предотвращающая выход температуры за установленные пределы. 

Простота в эксплуатации

 

В отличие от реометров вискозиметр EMS практически не требует наличия специальных знаний и опыта от оператора. Вискозиметр проводит измерение вязкости в маленькой пробирке с 0,3 мл образца, а оператору лишь необходимо вставлять такие пробирки в прибор. 
Точность при вводе образца практически не требуется, необходимо ввести лишь такое количество образца, чтобы сфера в пробирке, оказалась погруженной в него. Отслеживать количество образца не нужно, достаточно лишь выполнить условие полного погружения сферы в образец при измерении. Это большое отличие от реометров, где оператору приходится точно отмерять количество образца, чтобы предотвратить влияние изменения объема. 

Исследование смазочных масел и консистентных смазок

Одним из важнейших направлений разработки и проверки смазок является определение срока службы смазки и изменения ее свойств под воздействием температуры. Вискозиметр EMS позволяет проводить данные измерения легко и просто, в маленькой герметично закрытой крышкой одноразовой пробирке. 

Бесконтактное измерение в одноразовой емкости для образца

При использовании вискозиметра вращения одной из самых трудоемких и ответственных стадий является его очистка после измерения. Особенно сложно проводить очистку после измерений на высоковязких полимерных образцах, которые затвердевают при комнатной температуре. 
Застывший образец, если его не удалить полностью с датчиков и других деталей вискозиметра вращения, часто вносит ошибки в результаты измерения или вызывает неполадки, создавая непредвиденное сопротивление вращению.

В противоположность этому, в вискозиметре EMS реализован бесконтактный способ измерения с помощью одноразовых пробирок. Данный принцип резко снижает потребности в очистке, устраняет возможные ошибки и позволяет с легкостью проводить измерение вязкости даже самых трудноочищаемых образцов. 

Применения

Основные применения вискозиметра EMS для полимеров и нефтепродуктов 

Водные растворы полимеров

Гидродинамика - это важный раздел химической технологии. Безразмерные гидродинамические характеристики (число Рейнолдса, число Прандтля) часто используются для оптимизации и масштабирования химических установок. Для определения данных характеристик необходимо проводить измерения вязкости в максимально близких к реальным условиям, что часто подразумевает проведение измерений вязкости при высоких температурах и давлениях.


То же самое применимо и к кинетике реакций, которую необходимо изучать в реальных условиях, а протекание реакций обычно сопровождается изменением вязкости.

Вискозиметр EMS идеально подходит для подобных применений, поскольку он с легкостью позволяет отслеживать изменение вязкости во время реакции при повышенных температурах и давлениях. Например, с помощью вискозиметра EMS можно следить за измерением вязкости во время процесса полимеризации при 150°C под давлением около 5 атм.

Adhesives

Viscosity is an important physical property of any adhesive. With normal viscometers, however, viscosity measurements of adhesives require a vast amount of time as cleaning is difficult or nearly impossible.

The disposable measuring cell of the EMS Viscometer brings decisive time savings to such measurements as cleaning is no longer necessary.

Ионные жидкости

Ионные жидкости представляют собой жидкие соли. Их часто используют в аккумуляторах. Для данных применений вязкость ионной жидкости должна быть как можно меньше, поскольку скорость переноса заряда в такой жидкости растет с увеличением вязкости. Таким образом, подходящая для применения в аккумуляторах ионная жидкость должна обладать малой вязкостью в широком температурном диапазоне. Очень небольшое количество ионных жидкостей остаются жидкими при понижении температуры, во многих случаях вязкость жидкости становится слишком высокой для электрохимических применений. Зачастую, данную проблему удается решить путем смешения различных ионных жидкостей и использования присадок.

При разработке новой ионной жидкости образцы обычно доступны весьма в небольших количествах. На них часто нужно провести измерение зависимости вязкости от температуры и проверку влияния добавок и смешения с другими ионными жидкостями.
 
Вискозиметр EMS идеально подходит для данных исследований:
Он позволяет проводить измерения на малом количестве образца, обладает функцией автоматического определения температурных зависимостей, а также, за счет септы на крышке пробирки, позволяет постепенно вводить добавки в уже исследованный образец и использовать его еще несколько раз для снятия зависимостей вязкости от концентрации добавок и температуры.

Жидкости для связывания диоксида углерода

Одним из возможных будущих путей снижения концентрации СО2 в воздухе является использование жидкостей, способных поглощать его в больших количествах. Часто для данного применения рассматривают ионные жидкости, поскольку они практически не имеют давления паров и, таким образом, не испаряются даже при высоких температурах. При разработке таких жидкостей важно изучать зависимость их вязкости от количества поглощенного СО2.


С помощью вискозиметра EMS можно подавать небольшое давление СО2 прямо в пробирку через септу и, соответственно, с легкостью проводить подобные измерения.

Люминесцентные материалы

Люминофоры используются в виде тонких слоев, излучающих свет в экранах. Для обеспечения бесперебойного нанесения тонкого слоя органического полупроводника необходимо с высокой точностью знать его вязкость. Синтез новых люминесцентных материалов обычно довольно сложен и довольно недешев. Для проведения нескольких измерений обычно доступно лишь малое количество материала.

Вискозиметр EMS позволяет провести измерение вязкости люминесцентного материала с использованием малого количества образца. Во время измерения нет риска загрязнения образца, и его можно использовать для дальнейших исследований после проведения нескольких измерений вязкости.

without any problem.

Polymer and petrochemical

Viscosity is one of the important physical properties of any polymer materials. By viscosity measurement, we can know not only the physical properties of polymers, but also the property changes caused by bonding or interaction between monomers or polymers, such as polymerization process, crosslinking process, and curing process. However, when conventional rotational viscometer is used, the cone-plate (probe of the viscometer) should be replaced each time with the one which fits the measuring viscosity range of sample, and these troublesome procedures need huge time and workload to optimize the measurement conditions and summarize the results.  In contrast, EMS viscometer covers a wide range of viscosity measurement without replacing the spheres and can automatically detect the best measurement conditions and the viscosity of unknown sample by using the screening function. Temperature dependency of sample viscosity in melting or curing processes can be monitored easily by accurate temperature controlling system. 
 Useful functions of EMS viscometer for this industry are as below.
 

Wide measurement range

EMS viscometer covers a wide range of viscosity measurement, from 0.1mPa・s to 1,000,000mPa・s. It can measure and observe the viscosity of the polymerization or curing process in monomers.

Accurate temperature control mechanism and small sample quantity

EMS viscometer is equipped with an electronically controlled temperature mechanism, a micro ceramic heater for heating and a peltier element for cooling. The temperature can be controlled with an accuracy of ±0.1°C, from a range of 0 °C to 200  °C. Any heater for temperature control is not necessary to be prepared at customer's site.
 The temperature control takes only 10 minutes for the temperature to increase from 25 °C to 200 °C, and 15 minutes for the temperature to decrease from 200°C to 25°C. 

When measuring thermoplastic resins, all it takes is to introduce a small piece of the solidified sample at room temperature into the sample container and place the container into the EMS viscometer. The measurement starts by pressing the start button. This shows that the EMS viscometer does not require sample preparation steps like heating and melting steps unlike when rotational viscometer is used. 

EMS viscometer is equipped with accurate and quick temperature control system for small sample quantities, accomplishing easy measurement of temperature dependence in viscous sample. 

Sequence mode to observe temperature dependency

Software of EMS viscometer is equipped with the function of sequence mode which enables continuous measurements at different temperatures. This function is very useful  by just modifying the parameters when evaluating temperature dependency in viscous sample. 
The viscometer is also useful when the viscosity behavior is observed for long hours because the instrument has safety function to prevent temperature runaway. 

Easy operation for all operators

 

Unlike Rheometer, EMS viscometer does not require special experiences and knowledge for all operators. The viscometer  can measure viscosity in small samples from 0.3mL, afterwhich the operator just need to introduce the disposable container with small sphere into the instrument. 
Operators do not need to introduce sample delicately into the container. The sample is enough just to introduce more than 0.3mL which immersed small sphere probe in the disposable container. (Operators do not need to monitor the sample amount introduced into the container. It is possible to introduce more than 0.3mL volume as long as the small sphere is immersed in the sample)
In contrast, when operator uses Rheometer, they always need to take note of the sample quantity to prevent influences from the volume variation. 

Evaluation of lubricating oil and grease

The product life and evaluation of deterioration by observing viscosity in lubricating oil and grease under heating conditions has been of great importance in the industry. EMS viscometer enables this evaluation easily and safely by using disposable container sealed with cap. 

Non-direct contact measurement by using disposable sample container

When Rotational viscometer is used, the cleaning process after measurement is a struggle for all operators. Especially when highly viscous sample like polymer is measured, it becomes solidified at room temperature, causing difficulties in removing and cleaning. 
The solidified sample that is not removed completely on sensors and other parts of the Rotational viscometer sometimes causes measurement errors and malfunctions by generating unexpected stress.

In contrast, the EMS viscometer adopts non-contact measurement method by using disposable containers. This principle reduces possibility of malfunction caused by solidified samples and enables viscosity measurement in sticky samples. 

Applications

Major applications of EMS viscometer for this industry are as below. 

 

Aqueous Polymers

Fluid mechanics are important in chemical engineering – the corresponding dimension less numbers (Reynolds Number, Prandtl Number) are widely used in optimization and scale-up of chemical synthesis. To evaluate these dimensionless numbers, the viscosity in the process under investigation must be examined under realistic conditions. This often requires viscosity measurements at elevated temperatures and pressures.


The same is the case if reaction kinetics must be studied under real conditions based on viscosity changes which occur during a reaction.

The EMS Viscometer is the ideal tool for such applications, as it easily allows to monitor the viscosity during reactions at elevated temperatures and pressures. With the EMS Viscometer it is thus possible, for example, to monitor the viscosity during a polymerization process at 150°C under a pressure of 5 bar.

Adhesives

Viscosity is an important physical property of any adhesive. With normal viscometers, however, viscosity measurements of adhesives require a vast amount of time as cleaning is difficult or nearly impossible.

The disposable measuring cell of the EMS Viscometer brings decisive time savings to such measurements as cleaning is no longer necessary.

Ionic Liquids

Ionic liquids (IL) are salts in a liquid state. They are often used in electric batteries. For this application, the viscosity of the ionic liquid should be as low as possible, as the ability of the ionic liquid to transport charge is the better the lower its viscosity. An ionic liquid suitable to be used in electric batteries must therefore have a low viscosity over a wide temperature range. Few ionic liquids remain liquid at extremely low temperatures and in many cases their viscosities become prohibitively high for electrochemical applications. Often, mixtures of different ionic liquids or the use of additives helps to mitigate this problem.

When developing a new ionic liquid, normally only small amounts of the product are available to perform viscosity measurements at different temperatures and to examine the influence of additives or the addition of another ionic liquid on its viscosity.

 

The EMS Viscometer is the ideal tool to perform such studies:

It requires only a small amount of sample to perform the measurements and can automatically measure the viscosity over a wide temperature range. Furthermore, the same sample can be used to perform measurements with different amounts of a certain additive or another ionic liquid added to check the influence of these additions on the sample's viscosity.

Liquids to Capture Carbon Dioxide

Liquids which are able to capture large amounts of carbon dioxide might help to reduce CO2 emissions in future. Often ionic liquids are considered for this application, as they have almost no vapour pressure and do therefore not evaporate even under high temperature. When developing ionic liquids for this application, it is important to know how the viscosity of the ionic liquid is influenced by the absorbed carbonic acid.

With the EMS Viscometer the corresponding measurements can be carried out quickly and accurately as its measuring cell can be pressurized.

Luminescent Materials

Luminophores are applied as thin emissive electroluminescent layers in display technology. To ensure a flawless application of a thin layer of the organic semiconductor, the viscosity of the material must exactly be known. The synthesis of new luminescent materials is normally complicate and expensive. To carry out several test normally only a minute amount of sample is available.

With the EMS Viscometer it is possible to determine the viscosity of luminescent materials with a very small amount of sample and there is no risk that the samples get contaminated during measurement. One sample can therefore be used for several tests without any problem.

  • Facebookの社会的なアイコン
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Kyoto Electronics Manufacturing Co., Ltd. Kyoto, Japan

(Head Office)

68 Ninodan-cho, Shinden, Kisshoin, Minami-ku, Kyoto, 601-8317 Japan

TEL +81-75-691-4121 / FAX +81-75-691-4127

(Overseas Sales and Marketing Dept.)

2-7-1, Ichigaya-sadohara-cho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, 162-0842, Japan
TEL +81-3-5227-3156 / FAX +81-3-3268-5591

Copyright (c) 2020 KYOTO ELECTRONICS MANUFACTURING CO., LTD. All rights reserved.